10 ways to send Diwali greetings using Indian languages

Diwali or Divali, better know as "Festival of Lights" is a five-day Hindu festival and is observed in India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Myanmar, Mauritius, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, Suriname, Malaysia, Singapore and Fiji. It falls sometime in the middle of October and early November.
Diwali Festival of Lights
If you ever happen to visit India during this time when Diwali is being celebrated, you could at least use the following 10 ways to greet your Indian friends, using the language they speak.

Here goes the list:

  1. Diwali ki Shubhkamnayein (दिवाली की शुभकामनाएं) - Hindi
  2. Diwali Mubarak" (દીવાળી મુબારક) - Gujarati
  3. Shubh Diwali / Diwalichya hardik Shubhechha" (शुभ दिवाली / दिवाळीच्या हार्दिक शुभेच्छा ) - Marathi
  4. Deepavali Nalvazhthukal (தீபாவளி நல்வாழ்த்துகள்) - Tamil
  5. Deepavali Shubhakankshalu (దీపావళి శుభాకా౦క్షలు) - Telugu
  6. Deepavali Aashamsagal ( ദീപാവലി ആശംസകള് ) - Malayalam
  7. Deepavali Habbada Shubhashayagalu (ದೀಪಾವಳಿ ಹಬ್ಬದ ಶುಭಾಶಯಗಳು) - Kannada
  8. Tuhanu diwali diyan boht boht vadhaiyan (ਤੁਹਾਨੂੰ ਦਿਵਾਲੀ ਦੀਆਂ ਬਹੁਤ ਬਹੁਤ ਵਧਾਈਆਂ ਹੋਣ ) - Punjabi
  9. Subho Deepabalir Preeti O Subechsha (শুভ দীপাবলীর প্রীতি ও শুভেচ্ছা) - Bengali
  10. Deepavalira Anek Shubhechha (ଦୀପାବଳିର ଅନେକ ଶୁଭେଛା) - Oriya
Diwali is spiritual in nature. In Hindu belief, it says there is something pure beyond man's physical body and mind. A person is expected to recognize the existence of the "inner light". From the looks of it, observing the festival of lights is but a symbolism to one's victory over the evil forces around.

How great it is to join your Indian and Hindu believing friends in celebrating Diwali by sending the appropriate greetings.

Read Related Posts:

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment