Bangsamoro Region: Lanao del Sur town protests for exclusion

The establishment of the Bangsamoro Region in Central Mindanao, as stipulated in the signing of the Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB) yesterday (Thurs) had a town in Lanao del Sur, on protest for exclusion.

Bangsamoro Region Map

A group of Christian residents in Wao town in Lanao del Sur staged a rally on Thursday.

The Bangsamoro Region covers five (5) provinces, including two (2) cities, 6 towns and 39 villages. It comprised about 10 percent of the Philippine's total land area.

The region is yet to be called autonomous, as President Aquino still has to ask the congress to pass the 'Bangsamoro Basic Law' by the end of 2014.

The said 'Basic Law' shall have to undergo ratification through a plebiscite, which will be conducted in 2015.

It is under the same notion that Wao town of Lanao del sur held a rally during the CAB signing. According to the town mayor Elvino Balicao, speaking on behalf of his constituents of around 7,000 Ilonggos:
We are one with our Muslim brothers and sisters in the Bangsamoro, and since Wao town is [mostly] Christian settlers, we want them (Bangsamoro) to fully enjoy the creation of a new political entity according to their ways and traditions
I just want to appeal that if time comes for the plebescite, let the true voices of the people–or the result of the plebescite–come out.
The residents of Wao feared that they might lose their lands once the Bangsamoro region and its political body start to operate.

During the demonstration, it was said that their town was not represented well during the series of consultations conducted by the Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC). Source

Read Related Posts:

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment